Sunday, September 6, 2009

Faulkner's Works (September 25, 1897 – July 6, 1962)

Soldiers’ Pay, Boni & Liveright, 1926, published with author’s speech of acceptance of Nobel Prize, New American Library of World Literature, 1959.

Mosquitoes, Boni and Liveright, 1927.

Sartoris (also see Flags in the Dust below), Harcourt, 1929.

The Sound and the Fury, J. Cape & H. Smith, 1929.

As I Lay Dying, J. Cape &H. Smith, 1930, new and corrected edition, Random House, 1964.

Sanctuary, J. Cape &H. Smith, 1931, published as Sanctuary: The Original Text, edited with afterword and notes by Noel Polk, Random House, 1981, published as Sanctuary: The Corrected Text, Random House, 1993.

Light in August, H. Smith and R. Haas, 1932.

Pylon, H. Smith and R. Haas, 1935.

Absalom, Absalom!, Random House, 1936, casebook edition edited by Elisabeth Muhlenfeld published as William Faulkner’s Absalom, Absalom!, Garland Publishing, 1984.

The Unvanquished, drawings by Edward Shenton, Random House, 1938.

The Wild Palms, Random House, 1939; later released under Faulkner’s original title If I Forget Thee, Jerusalem in Novels: 1936-1940, Library of America, 1990, and by Vintage Books in 1995.

The Hamlet (first book in the Snopes Trilogy; also see below), Random House, 1940.

Go Down, Moses, and Other Stories, Random House, 1942; published as Go Down, Moses (Faulkner’s original title), Vintage, 1973.

Intruder in the Dust, Random House, 1948.

Requiem for a Nun, Random House, 1951.

A Fable, Random House, 1954.

The Town (second book of the Snopes Trilogy; also see below), Random House, 1957.

The Long Hot Summer: A Dramatic Book from the Four-Book Novel; The Hamlet, New American Library, 1958.

The Mansion (third book in the Snopes Trilogy; also see below), Random House, 1959.

The Reivers, a Reminiscence, Random House, 1962 (condensation published as Hell Creek Crossing, illustrations by Noel Sickles, Reader’s Digest Association, 1963), New American Library, 1969.

Snopes: A Trilogy, Volume 1: The Hamlet, Volume 2: The Town, Volume 3: The Mansion, Random House, 1965, published as Three Novels of the Snopes Family: The Hamlet, The Town, The Mansion, Random House, 1994.

Flags in the Dust (unabridged version of Sartoris), edited with an introduction by Douglas Day, Random House, 1973.

Other published editions of Faulkner’s novels:
Mayday, University of Notre Dame Press, 1976.

Father Abraham, Random House, 1984, published as Father Abraham, 1926, Garland Publishing, 1987.

Elmer, edited by Dianne L. Cox, foreword by James B. Meriwether, Seajay Society, 1984.

The Collected William Faulkner: The Sound and the Fury, Light in August, As I Lay Dying, Random House, 1985.

Novels, 1930-1935 (includes As I Lay Dying, Sanctuary, Light in August, and Pylon), Library of America, 1994.

Novels, 1936-1940 (includes Absalom, Absalom!, The Unvanquished, If I Forget Thee, Jerusalem, and The Hamlet), Library of America, 1990.

Novels, 1942-1944 (includes Go Down, Moses, Intruder in the Dust, Requiem for a Nun, and A Fable), Library of America, 1994.

Noveks, 1926-1929 (includes Soldiers’ Pay, Mosquitoes, Flags in the Dust, and The Sound and the Fury), Library of America, forthcoming.

Each of Faulkner’s novels has been translated into at least one other language, and several have been translated into as many as thirteen languages.

Short Fiction:
Short story collections:
New Orleans Sketches (written in 1925), introduction by Carvel Collins, Rutgers University Press, 1958; Grove Press, 1962; Random House, 1968; University Press of Mississippi, 2002.

These Thirteen (also see below), J. Cape & H. Smith, 1931.

Doctor Martino, and Other Stories (also see below), H. Smith and R. Haas, 1934.

Go Down, Moses, and Other Stories (see above), Random House, 1942 (also published in a limited edition).

The Portable Faulkner, edited by Malcolm Cowley, Viking, 1946, revised and expanded edition, 1967 (published in England as The Essential Faulkner, Chatto & Windus, 1967).

Three Famous Short Novels, Random House, 1942, published as Three Famous Short Novels: Spotted Horses; Old Man; The Bear, Vintage, 1978.

Knight’s Gambit, Random House, 1949 (published in England as Knight’s Gambit: Six Stories, Chatto & Windus, 1960).

Collected Stories, Random House, 1950, published as Collected Stories of William Faulkner, Vintage, 1977 (published in England as Collected Short Stories, Volume 1: Uncle Willy and Other Stories, Volume 2: These Thirteen, Volume 3: Dr. Martino and Other Stories, Chatto & Windus, 1958, reprinted, 1978).

(And author of foreword) The Faulkner Reader: Selections from the Works of William Faulkner, Random House, 1954.

Faulkner’s County: Tales of Yoknapatawpha County, Chatto & Windus, 1955.

Big Woods, drawings by Edward Shenton, Random House, 1955, published as Big Woods: The Hunting Stories, Random House, 1994.

Uncle Willy, and Other Stories, Chatto & Windus, 1958.

Selected Short Stories, Modern Library, 1961.

Meriwether, James B., ed. A Faulkner Miscellany, edited by James B. Meriwether, University Press of Mississippi, 1974. Features essays about then-unpublished and -uncollected manuscripts and typescripts, along with publication of several of them.

Uncollected Stories of William Faulkner, edited by Joseph Blotner, Random House, 1979.

The Faulkner Reader, Random House, 1989.

No comments: